FSSC 22000 Certification Mark

FSSC 22000 Certification Mark

Adding value with our service portfolio

Adding value with our service portfolio


Management system certification for food safety / Voluntary assessment

Basis for Certification (certification standard):

International standard ISO 22000 (requirements for food safety management systems), industry-specific standards (e.g. ISO 22001 for various sectors of industry, additional FSSC requirements)

Standard owner:

Foundation for Food Safety

What the FSSC 22000 standard covers

The FSSC 22000 standard defines the requirements for a certifiable food safety management system (FSMS) of an organization. The organization analyses and considers its customers' food safety requirements and the requirements of the applicable laws and standards (legal requirements for the industry, requirements of the standard owner etc.). These requirements include, but are not limited to:

  • Implementation of a quality and food safety management system
    Planning, implementation, assessment, corrective actions
  • Hazard assessments plus control elements
  • Preventive actions
  • Resource management skills
  • Human resources, facilities and equipment, training
  • Environmental, personal and process hygiene
  • Pest monitoring and control
  • Suitability of packaging materials, machinery and vehicles
  • Correct product labeling (allergens, correctness, scope)
  • Systems for the evaluation of suppliers and service providers
  • Measurements, analyses, improvements
  • On-site inspections, emergency responses and control
  • Supply facilities (e.g. potable water, compressed air)
  • Servicing and maintenance
  • Security at the premises, product protection

Next Steps

Site Selector