Choose another country to see content specific to your location

//Select Country

DOT Level Inspection Services For Your Trucking Fleets

We are authorized to perform DOT Level 1 Through 6 inspections


The Department of Transportation (DOT) regulates safety, accessibility and efficiency for transportation systems in the Untied States. Commercial motor vehicle (CMV) operators and carriers are subject to roadside audits and inspections in order to remain compliant, an to identify any safety and compliance violations for trucking fleets.

Certified DOT InspectorThere are 6 primary DOT inspections that North American fleets and drivers must remain compliant with. Inspections are conducted by a state police officer or a Certified DOT Inspector, who will ensure that these vehicles are safe to remain on the road.

6 types of DOT Level inspections:

  • Level 1 DOT Inspection - This is the most common form of inspection in North America, focusing both on the CMV and the driver. This is a comprehensive inspection that scrutinizes all aspects related to safe driving including brake and exhaust systems, seat belts, fuel systems, steering mechanisms, windshield wipers, emergency exits, turn signals, securement of cargo, etc. All driver documentation is also inspected at this time.
  • Level 2 DOT Inspection - This is also known as a Walk-Around Driver/Vehicle Inspection. Similar to Level 1, safety components of the vehicle will be inspected, but with less thoroughness as a Level 1. All driver documentation is inspected, and the driver is screened for drug or alcohol use.
  • Level 3 DOT Inspection - During this inspection, only driver documentation and credentials will be examined, and the driver should be prepared to produce his license, medical card, SPE certificate, carrier identification and status, etc.
  • Level 4 DOT Inspection - This inspection includes a single-time examination of a vehicle or driver-related component. A Level 4 Inspection is only conducted when the DOT is gathering information for a data study or research.
  • Level 5 Inspection - This covers all components of a Level 1 inspection without the driver being present. These inspections usually occur at the company-owned facility as part of the DOT audit.
  • Level 6 DOT Inspection - This is also known as the North American Standard Inspection for Transuranic Waste and Highway Route Controlled Quantities (HRCQ) of Radioactive Material inspection. This reviews vehicles and drivers transporting radioactive materials, and all drivers/vehicles must pass in order to remain compliant.


As an Authorized Inspection Agency (AIA) accredited through the Department of Transportation (DOT), TÜV SÜD ARISE through its affiliation with ARISE Boiler Inspection and Insurance Company RRG can gain you access to these inspections. We are internationally known for our expertise in equipment compliance with the DOT requirements. With TÜV SÜD ARISE as your Certified Inspector, you can be assured that you will be receiving high-quality certification services for your trucking fleets, while still retaining the trusted partner status that is the cornerstone of ARISE services.

In addition to DOT accreditation and inspection services, TÜV SÜD ARISE also is accredited by ASME and National Board, as well as the Mine Safety and Health Administration (MHSA) to perform jurisdictional and shop inspection work for boilers, pressure vessels, and transportable pressure equipment.

Next Steps

Select Your Location





Middle East and Africa