TÜV SÜD AG - Board of Management

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Axel Stepken

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Axel Stepken
Chairman of the Board of Management, TÜV SÜD AG

Axel Stepken was born in Essen, Germany. He graduated with a degree in Electrical Engineering from the RWTH Aachen and achieved his PhD in High Voltage Engineering in 1989.

Upon completion of his PhD, Axel Stepken worked at ABB where he held several Management positions in Germany and Indonesia within the Power Transmission and Distribution Segment. He joined TÜV SÜD AG as Member of the Board of Management responsible for the INDUSTRY and the former PEOPLE Strategic Business Segments as well as the Strategic Region ASIA. In June 2007 Axel Stepken was appointed the Chairman of the Board of Management. 

Dr. Matthias J. Rapp

Dr. Matthias J. Rapp
Member of the Board of Management, TÜV SÜD AG

Born in 1967 in Schramberg/Schwarzwald (Black Forest), Matthias J. Rapp studied Business Administration at WHU (Otto Beisheim School of Management) Koblenz, ESC Lyon and Manchester Business School. He completed his doctorate at WHU Koblenz from 1992 to 1995. 


Matthias J. Rapp started his professional career with the global management consulting firm Boston Consulting Group before moving to industry in 1997, where he has since held positions as Chief Financial Officer in several prestigious companies, most recently as CFO of Webasto SE. Matthias J. Rapp was appointed Member of the Board of Management of TÜV SÜD AG with effect from August 2013 and is responsible for Finance and Controlling.


Mr. Ishan Palit

Ishan Palit
Member of the Board of Management, TÜV SÜD AG

Ishan Palit was born in 1968 in Mumbai, India. He studied in the USA and the UK, and holds a Bachelors Degree from Davidson College, USA, a General Degree in Economics from the London School of Economics, UK and a Masters in Business Administration from Georgia Southern University, USA.

Ishan Palit started his career with the American multinational “Rotary Corporation”, a supplier to the Automotive and Small Engine industry. He joined the TÜV SÜD Group in 1994 and founded the TÜV SÜD operations in India. As COO and then the CEO, he was responsible for the successful development of TÜV SÜD Asia Pacific and was subsequently promoted to CEO of the Global Product Service Division. Ishan Palit was appointed as the Chief Operating Officer (COO) of the TÜV SÜD Group in May 2017, responsible for operations and sales across all Divisions and geographies.

Supervisory Board, AG Supervisory Board, eV Board of Directors, Shareholders Committee GbR, Stiftung Foundation Board of Trustees and Board of directors
  • TÜV SÜD AG - Supervisory Board

    Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Klaus Draeger
    Former Member of the Board
    of Management of BMW Group

    Matthias Andreesen Viegas
    Chairman of the Committee of Executive Staff of

    Harald Gömpel*
    Deputy Chairman
    Chairman of the works council of
    TÜV Technische Überwachung Hessen GmbH

    Dr. Christine Bortenlänger
    Member of the Executive Board of
    Deutsches Aktieninstitut e.V.

    Wolfgang Dehen
    Former Chairman of the Board of
    Management of OSRAM Licht AG

    Thomas Eder*
    First Deputy Chairman of the works
    council Bayern Südost of TÜV SÜD Auto Service GmbH 

    Dr. Jörg Matthias Großmann
    Member of the Board / CFO
    of Freudenberg Chemical Specialities SE & Co. KG

    Manuela Dietz 
    Union representative

    Jens Krause* 
    Chairman of the works council of
    TÜV SÜD Management Service GmbH

    Marcel Rath*
    Chairman of the group works council and
    Chairman of the works council of TÜV SÜD AG

    Angelique Renkhoff-Mücke 
    Member of the Executive Board / CEO
    WAREMA Renkhoff SE

    Dr. Nathalie von Siemens
    Former Managing Director
    and Spokesperson of the Board of Siemens Stiftung (since July 10, 2020)

    Prof. Dr. Rudolf Staudigl
    Chairman of the Board of Management
    of Wacker Chemie AG

    Dr. Eberhard Veit
    Chief Executive Officer of 4.0-Veit GbR
    Former CEO of Festo AG

    Rainer Wich*
    Chairman of the central works council
    TÜV SÜD Auto Service GmbH

    Wolfram Reiners
    Chairman of the works central works council 
    TÜV SÜD Business Services GmbH

    * Employee representative

  • TÜV SÜD e.V. - Board of Directors

    Aldo BelloniProf. Dr.-Ing. Aldo Belloni
    CEO (ret.) of
    Linde AG



    Counsel Bernhard Behm

    Managing Director

    TÜV SÜD e.V.

    Reinhold Haas
    Head Finance and Group-Accounting (ret.) of

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Markus Lienkamp
    Institute of Automotive Technology (Faculty of Mechanical Engineering)
    Technische Universität München

    Prof. Dr. Karen Pittel
    Director of the ifo Center for Energy, Climate and Resources
    Leibniz-Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung

    Thomas Busch
    Employee representative
    (guest member)

  • TÜV SÜD - Shareholders' Committee GbR

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Aldo Belloni
    CEO (ret.) of
    Linde AG

    Bertram Brossardt
    Managing Director of
    Bavarian Business Association

    Dr. Karl Huber

    President (ret.) of the
    Bavarian Constitutional Court


    Corinna Schittenhelm

    Member of the Board of Management

    Schaeffler AG


    Horst Schneider
    Member of the Board of Management (ret.)

  • TÜV SÜD Stiftung (Foundation) - Board of Trustees and Board of Directors

    Board of Trustees

    Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang A. Herrmann
    President Emeritus Technische Universität München

    Josef Bichler
    Head of Corporate Controlling (ret.) of TÜV SÜD AG

    Dirk Eilers
    Member of the Board of Management (ret.) of TÜV SÜD AG
    (Deputy Chairman) 

    Prof. Dr. Angelika Niebler
    Member of the European Parliament

    Johann Schwaiger
    Employee representative
    (guest member)

    Board of Directors

    Dipl.-Ing. Horst Schneider
    Member of the Board of Management (ret.) of TÜV SÜD AG

  • TÜV SÜD America Management Team

    John Tesoro
    John Tesoro

    President & CEO

    Fabian Schober
    Fabian Schober

    Jim Marsh
    Jim Marsh
    Global Risk Management

    Jasmine Martirossian
    Jasmine Martirossian
    Vice President Marketing

    Jobina Inas Gonsalves
    Jobina Gonsalves
    Vice President
    Human Resources

    Kapil Bansal
    Kapil Bansal
    Senior Vice President
    Product Service

    Greg Bates
    Greg Bates

    Business Assurance

Next Steps

Site Selector