Choose another country to see content specific to your location

//Select Country

ISO 9001:2015 Revision

Meet and exceed customer expectations

Learn more about ISO 9001:2015 and its impact on your business

On 23 September 2015, the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) published a major revision of the ISO 9001 standard. While the previous revision, dating back to 2008, introduced only a small number of new requirements, the new version is far more significant. It includes a number of important changes for organisations currently holding ISO 9001 certification, as well as requirements for those contemplating the development and implementation of a quality management system.

Find out more about the impact the ISO 9001 revision will have on your business and what you can do to prepare with our ISO 9001:2015 resources below.

Our revision factsheet introduces the ISO 9001:2015 standard and highlights the benefits of adopting a quality management system.

You will also find information about our DELTΔ audit service, designed to provide a smooth and systematic approach to the transition from ISO 9001:2008 to ISO 9001:2015.

Download Info Sheet

For further information on the revised quality management standard, click on the tabs below.

One new feature is the “High Level Structure (HLS)”. The new version is structured in accordance with the requirement of the ISO Directive, Annex SL 2013. In the future, the parties developing management system standards will use a consistent structure and outline, identical core texts and common terms and core definitions. This is to ensure that all sections of management system standards (for example, ISO 20121:2012 “Event sustainability management systems”) share the same section headings and core texts. The ISO 9001 and 14001 standards already use this HLS.

Structure Comparison

ISO 9001:2015

ISO 9001:2008

1. Scope

1. Scope

2. Normative references

2. Normative references

3. Terms and definitions

3. Terms and definitions

4. Context of the organisation

4. Quality management system

5. Leadership

5. Management responsibility

6. Planning

6. Resource management

7. Support

7. Product realisation

8. Operation

8. Measurement, analysis and improvement

9. Performance evaluation

10. Improvement

How Can Your Prepare?

Users of management systems should familiarise themselves with the changes, align their QM systems accordingly and have their QM systems certified within three years of the publication of ISO 9001:2015 in September 2015.

There will be a three-year transition period during which both the old and the new standard will apply in parallel. However, within the scope of certification, organisations should not leave the upgrade until the very end of the transition period. We recommend that organisations upgrade their systems to the new standard at an early stage within the scope of a regular re-certification audit.

We also offer gap analysis to identify the differences between the old and the new standard within the scope of a Delta audit.

Frequently Asked Questions

Summary of Key Changes

Next Steps

Select Your Location





Middle East and Africa