ISO 45001 Certification

ISO 45001 Certification

Manage occupational health and safety (OH&S) risks to ensure stable operations

Manage occupational health and safety (OH&S) risks to ensure stable operations

The Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S) Management System Standard

ISO 45001 was published in March 2018 by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), and it supersedes the OHSAS 18001 standard. ISO 45001 is the first international standard to provide a comprehensive OH&S management systems framework. The standard defines requirements for an OH&S system and includes an implementation guide. Also, it enables organizations to proactively address OH&S-related risks and opportunities, thereby improving the safety of personnel.

The Main Components of ISO 45001

  • The standard implements the "high level structure," giving it a common framework with other management systems, such as ISO 9001 and ISO 14001.
  • It places great emphasis on the responsibility of senior management. This aspect has already been implemented in the revised ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 standards.
  • ISO 45001 includes persons who are not permanently employed, but are in other ways working under the responsibility of the organization/company, such as subcontractors, as well as processes that have been outsourced in their entirety. In this way, it incorporates elements of the SCC certificate.
  • The standard also introduces the term “opportunities” as a new aspect in the field of occupational health and safety. This covers issues that go beyond the mere elimination or minimization of OH&S risks and hazards.

ISO 45001 Certification with TÜV SÜD

As an internationally accredited Certification Body, TÜV SÜD has the expertise to assess your organization against the ISO 45001 standard requirements. Before the certification audit can take place, the management system must be implemented, and its effectiveness documented against compliance requirements. We have experience with assisting organizations in both stages of the ISO 45001 certification process.

How to Prepare for Certification

  1. Become familiar with ISO 45001 objectives

  2. Identify key gaps against requirements
  3. Outline and implement necessary measures
  4. Document effectiveness and compliance

Certification Process

  1. Stage 1: Evaluation of preparedness and documentation review audit
  2. Stage 2: On-site audit
  3. Correction of non-conformance issues
  4. Issuance of ISO 45001 certification
  5. Annual audit required to maintain certification validity

Benefits of ISO 45001 Certification

A robust OH&S system represents an opportunity for organizations to proactively improve injury prevention and reduce ill health. An OH&S also supports the organization's longevity by bolstering business growth and competitiveness. In addition, organizations have a moral and legal responsibility to ensure the health of their employees. Certification to ISO 45001 delivers a competitive advantage by formally clearing that your organization takes OH&S risk management seriously.  

FAQs about iso 45001 certification

  • Why is ISO 45001 important?

    ISO 45001 certification offers several operational benefits.

    • It is an international benchmark and a sign of being socially responsible.
    • You can set up operational controls that consider risks, opportunities, and legal requirements.
    • Effective occupational health and safety (OH&S) at the workplace can help you reduce your insurance premiums.
    • The certification helps increase employee awareness about OH&S risks, ensuring workers’ active participation in health and safety matters.
    • Better management of health and safety risks not only helps protect employees, but also reduces absence resulting from poor health and safety management systems at the workplace.
    • The standard enables you to identify potential hazards, establish controls and implement measures to minimize risk, mitigate the impact, and ensure the safety of employee, customer, and visitor at the workplace.
    • The certification enhances your ability to respond to regulatory compliance issues, thus reducing the overall incident downtime and cost. 
  • What are the ISO 45001 requirements?

    Obtaining an ISO 45001 certification requires an organization to comply with the below requirements.

    • Organizational Context
      • Determine internal and external factors that affect your business.
      • Know who will be affected by them and howl.
    • Leadership and Responsibility
      • Communicate roles and responsibilities.
      • Have the leadership team assume responsibility for the OH&S management system.
    • Planning
      • Planning highlights the need to respond to changes and adapt to them.
      • Establish a plan to identify, assess and manage OH&S risks.
      • Demonstrate the way you will communicate them to the key stakeholders involved.
    • Resource Support
      • Ensure you have the resources to run an OH&S system at the employees’ disposal.
      • Provide proper training, PPE and communicate your objectives to your employees.
    • Assess Existing Procedures
      • Evaluate current procedures and note legally mandatory factors.
      • Plan to identify and respond to risks, opportunities, and emergencies.
    • Performance Monitoring and Evaluation
      • Monitor and evaluate the effectiveness of your OH&S system regularly, under a specific criterion.
    • Continual Improvement
      • Ensure continual improvement through regular and appropriate OH&S systems’ monitoring and evaluation.
  • Who needs ISO 45001 certification?

    Every company that handles low-risk or high-risk operations, regardless of the scale, and employees working on its behalf must implement the requirements ISO 45001 and get certified.

  • Is ISO 45001 a legal requirement?

    No, it is not required by law to implement ISO 45001, but it is an occupational health and safety standard that can help provide a structured framework for a safe and healthy workplace.

  • What is the difference between OHSAS 18001 and ISO 45001?

    The key difference between OHSAS 18001 and ISO 45001 is the reactive and proactive approach taken by these standards. OHSAS 18001 focuses only on risks, whereas ISO 45001 focuses on risks and proactive measures.


ISO 45001 Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S) Management System Infographic

ISO 45001 Explained

Improve the safety and health of employees and other personnel

Learn More

ISO 45001 Safety Management

Implementing ISO 45001

Learn how you can help bring better practices to your organization with ISO 45001

Learn More

ISO 45001 Occupational Health and Safety Management System

Integrating ISO 45001 Into Your Management Systems

Learn how to best integrate ISO 45001 into your management systems

Learn More


Next Steps

Site Selector