Mechanical Testing Standards
3 min

Mechanical Testing Standards: A Key Factor in Designing Safe & Effective Products

Posted by: TÜV SÜD Expert Date: 14 Jul 2023

Mechanical testing helps test the mechanical characteristics of a material as it functions in a specific environment. Mechanical testing is a crucial component of a design or production process. The main goal of mechanical testing is to guarantee the security of any finished structures or products. Because of this, testing environments should be equivalent to those the final product will encounter. Additionally, mechanical testing can help with technological innovation and cost-effective design. To ascertain changes and boost a product’s quality and safety assurance, independent testing facilities can carry out such tests.[1]

Governments and regulatory bodies set mechanical testing standards that manufacturers must adhere to, especially when a product failure could cause significant damage or injury. To demonstrate compliance, businesses must abide by these standards, which usually outline testing techniques and methodologies. These compliance standards are constant for all manufacturers, which helps maintain consistency and comparability of test results.[2]

Mechanical Testing Standards

National standards such as the ASTM standard, the EN standard, the JIS standard, and the Chinese GB/T standard are also used internationally in addition to globally recognised ISO standards. Additional precise standards may be necessary for specialised fields of application, such as aerospace. [3]

1. ASTM Testing Standard

The guidelines provided by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) and its physical and mechanical testing standards help determine the metallographic, physical, and mechanical properties of specific metals, alloys, and other materials. ASTM is a member of the ISO organisations.

The measurement of elastic moduli, impact strength, ductility, hardness, residual stress, and grain size uses methods such as X-ray diffraction, scanning electron microscopy, semiautomatic and automatic image analysis, and the hole-drilling strain-gage method. These testing standards enable metallurgical laboratories, producers, and other metal and alloy users to assess the physical and mechanical strength and quality of such materials ensuring safe use.[4]

2. ISO Testing Standard

The International Standards Organisation (ISO) creates standards that guarantee the effectiveness, quality, and safety of the systems, products, and services used by an organisation. With the help of experts from affiliated national organisations, ISO creates documents and updates testing standards. The three primary ISO types are ISO 9001:2015 for environmental management systems, ISO 14001:2015 for information security management systems, and ISO 27001:2013 for organisational quality management systems.[5]

3. JIS Testing Standard

JIS, or Japanese Industrial Standards, identifies the standards applied to industrial activities in Japan. The Japanese Industrial Standards Committee (JISC) oversees the standardisation process, and the Japanese Standards Association (JSA) publishes the results.[6]

4. DIN Testing Standard

DIN (Deutsches Institut für Normung) is the German Institute for Standardisation. The DIN-regulated standards secure the integrity of the final product by companies operating across various industries.[7]

5. EN Testing Standard

The European standard (EN) regulates the mechanical properties of metallic materials at ambient temperatures and specifies the procedure for tensile testing.[8]



A mechanical safety test offers access to international markets, safeguards users, and upholds a manufacturer’s reputation in the industry. To address the full spectrum of mechanical risks connected with the majority of consumer and industrial products, TÜV SÜD provides reliable and independent mechanical safety testing services.

TÜV SÜD’s experts can assist you with compliance. They can offer advice on lowering mechanical risks as they are up-to-date on recent regulatory changes in various jurisdictions. Retailers and customers worldwide accept the TÜV SÜD certification mark as proof of compliance with all relevant product safety requirements and standards.




Next Steps

Site Selector