Differences between HACCP and ISO 22000
3 min

Difference between HACCP and ISO 22000

Posted by: Helen Chin Date: 07 Jun 2024


The HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points) concept was first developed in the 1960s at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) in the USA to ensure safe food for its astronauts.

HACCP is based on seven principles which provide a systematic and science-based approach to identifying, evaluating, and controlling significant food safety hazards. These principles were developed by the Codex Alimentarius Commission, a joint initiative of the Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) and the World Health Organisation (WHO).

It focuses on control measures for significant hazards rather than relying only on end-product inspection and testing.

HACCP certification

HACCP certification is a formal recognition that an organisation has implemented a systematic preventive approach to food safety, addressing physical, chemical, and biological hazards in production processes.

Organisation shall establish HACCP system with application of 12 essential steps including seven HACCP principles according to Codex, along with prerequisite programs/ good hygiene practices.

Codex 7 HACCP Principles:

  • Conduct a hazard analysis.
  • Determine critical control points (CCPs).
  • Establish critical limits for each CCP.
  • Establish CCP monitoring procedures.
  • Establish corrective actions.
  • Establish verification procedures.
  • Establish record-keeping and documentation procedures.

Organisation can go for HACCP certification such as Codex HACCP version 2020* and Singapore Standard SS 444 (with inclusion of management system elements in 2018 version) developed by National Standards Body – Enterprise Singapore, the current National Standards Body, appoints Standards Development Organisations (SDOs) to develop and promote the adoption of Singapore and international standards.


SS 444 was first published in 1998 and revised in 2010. The 2010 version was based substantially on the Codex Alimentarius Commission’s “Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) System and Guidelines for its Application (Annex to CAC/ RCP1-1969, Rev. 4 – 2003 Recommended International Code of Practice General Principles of Food Hygiene)”, adapted and reproduced by permission of Codex.

It was then revised in 2018, which is the current version – SS 444: 2018.

Learn more about our SS 444 certification (under Singapore SAC accreditation) and training service.

ISO 22000 certification

ISO 22000 is an international standard for food safety management systems established by the International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO).

ISO 22000 is a broader food safety management system that incorporates the principles of HACCP, prerequisite program as a fundamental part of its requirement but also includes other management system requirements that follows ISO common high-level structure (HLS) framework. It is based on Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) cycle.

HLS consists of common 10-clause developed by ISO to ensure greater harmonisation among its many different management system standards such as ISO 9001 Quality Management System or ISO 14001 Environmental Management System.

Common 10-clause are Scope, Normative Reference, Terms and Definitions, Context of Organisation, Leadership, Planning, Support, Operation (covers HACCP principle and PRP in this chapter), Performance Evaluation, and Improvement.

ISO 22000 standard introduced the concept of “operational prerequisite programs (OPRPs)” to add to the existing concepts of prerequisite programs (PRPs) and Critical Control Points (CCP).

ISO 22000 is an internationally recognised standard, providing global credibility to Organisations that achieve certification. It demonstrates compliance with internationally accepted best practices for food safety management and can enhance market access, especially for organisations operating in international markets or supplying to multinational customers.

Learn more about our ISO 22000 certification (under Singapore SAC accreditation) and ISO 22000 training courses.

Summary of the differences:

   Codex HACCP 2020  SS 444  ISO 22000
Standard requirement

Covers HACCP principles according to the Codex Alimentarius Covers HACCP principles according to the Codex Alimentarius Covers HACCP principles according to the Codex Alimentarius
CCP monitoring CCP monitoring CCP and/ or OPRP monitoring
Pre-requisite program
- reference to Codex General Principle of Food Hygiene CAC/ RCP 1-1969
Pre-requisite program
- reference to Codex General Principle of Food Hygiene CAC/ RCP 1-1969
Pre-requisite program
- consider applicable part of the ISO/TS 22002-x, or applicable code of practice
Management commitments Management system requirement Management system requirement
(Follows ISO high-level structure common 10-clause)
Scheme owner Codex Alimentarius Commission, which is a joint body of the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) and the World Health Organisation (WHO) Singapore Standard International Organisation for Standardization (ISO)
Recognition Internationally recognised Singapore Standard adopting Codex international guidelines Internationally recognised standard
Accreditation Unaccredited Under SAC accreditation Under SAC accreditation


Both HACCP and ISO 22000 certifications improve food safety, customer trust, and operational efficiency, but ISO 22000 offers a more extensive and integrated approach suitable for global markets.

Ultimately, the choice between ISO 22000, and HACCP certification depends on factors such as industry requirements, market preferences, and organizational objectives.

With a commitment to excellence and a global reputation for delivering top-tier certification services, TÜV SÜD stands out as a reliable partner for food safety solutions, helping your business align seamlessly with international standards. Get started on your certification journey with TÜV SÜD.

Reference: Singapore Standard SS 444:2010 Hazard analysis and critical control point (HACCP) system and guidelines for its application.

Next Steps

Site Selector