Fuel Efficiency Testing Malaysia

IEC 61508 Functional Safety Training & Certification Program

For Electrical, Electronic and Programmable Systems

For Electrical, Electronic and Programmable Systems



The IEC 61508 functional safety standard applies to all industry sectors and covers the complete lifecycle of a product. Today's industry requirements are persistently changing in mobile and stationery systems which require companies to reach at the expertise level in the knowledge with regards to safety in order to master its complexity. Its implementation is difficult and requires significant experience with safety related concept. This is achieved with our training and personal qualification program which is accepted worldwide as proof appropriate qualification.

  • Introduction
    • Introduction into the Topic of Functional safety
    • Overview of relevant standards and "Why IEC 61508 in particular"
    • Safety management and a possible way of implementing it (Safety plan)
    • Safety lifecycle according to IEC 61508
    • Risk analysis
    • Safety concept and specification of safety requirements
    • System design and demonstration of safety
    • Assessment of the system architecture
    • Quantitative assessment a component level (failure probability)
    • Overview of the SW lifecycle
  • Module 1 - Risk Analysis to System Design
    • Brief repetition of theoretical fundamentals according to IEC 61508
    • Presentation of a small scale sample project and the associated development task
    • Performance of the risk assessment on the sample project
    • Determination of the safety requirements at system level and preparation of safety requirements specification including safety concept
    • Elaboration of a possible safety design for sample project
    • Presentation of a possible alternative and their advantage and disadvantages
    • Outlook on further steps to be taken (HW AND SW)
  • Module 2 - Development/Testing of Safety-Relevant Software according to IEC 61508

    Quality Management of the Software 

    • Quality management
    • Planning of functional safety
    • Configuration management
    • Software safety lifecycle

    Specification of the safety requirements

    • Planning of the validation
    • Design and development
    • Software verification
    • Software modification
    • Validation
    • Integration of programmable electronics (HW + SW)

    Assessment of functional safety

    • Planning
    • Assessment
  • Module 3 - System Assessment According to IEC 61508
    • Sub-system oriented consideration
    • Type of sub-system
    • Rating of faults as safe / dangerous
    • Calculation of safe failure fraction and failure characteristics
    • System assessment according to IEC 61508-2
    • Assessment of data communication according to IEC 61508
    • Basic data for failure rates : standards, field data, correction factors
    • Normative requirements and basic data for the failure models of single components
    • Ratings of diagnosis - diagnostic coverage
    • Performance of component FMEDA
  • Module 4 - Analysis Methods for Reliability Determination
    • Fundamentals, requirements of IEC 61508 for probabilistic necessary input data
    • Reliability block diagrams according to IEC 61508 PART 6 - application and limitations
    • Markov modeling: Fundamentals and examples
    • Fault tree analysis (FTA): Fundamentals and examples
  • Module 5 - Specification and Development of Software Tools According to IEC 61508
    • Quality Management of the Software
    • Software Safety Lifecycle
    • Assessment of Functional Safety


Functional safety of electrical/electronic/programmable electronic safety-related systems

Employers must train and certify their functional safety employees to meet the demands of the business and  standards. The FSCP confirms the individual as an expert in the automotive industry and is a highly sought-after  qualification. For a business, having a team of certified professionals demonstrates its commitment to functional safety and fulfills one of the requirements of IEC 61508 - qualification.

IEC 61508 training course introduction

Based on years of practical experience in the field of Functional Safety and participation in relevant standardization committees we impart you with the required knowledge relating to the existing IEC 61508 standard for safety-relevant electrical / electronic systems. The first three days are classroom setting instruction that provide detailed information and example / discussion for understanding and mastering the requirements of IEC61508 functional safety. Evening study time and problem solving is recommended. The fourth day consists of a two-part examination;

  • Day 01
    • Accidents in the news
    • What is functional safety?
    • Legal status
    • Application area
    • Layers of protection
    • Safety instrumented system
    • Random, common cause, and systematic failures
    • History functional safety
    • Functional safety standards Functional safety management
    • Lifecycle concept
    • Documentation
    • Implementation and monitoring
    • Verification, validation, assessment and audits
    • Modifications
    • Competency
  • Day 02
    • How much safety is enough?
    • Risk management
    • Hazard identification
    • Hazard analysis
    • Risk reduction techniques
    • Risk graph, risk matrix, LOPA
    • Identification safety functions
    • Overall planning
    • Implementation of a safety instrumented systems Safety plan, V&V plan and overall SRS
    • Requirements for suppliers
    • Hardware lifecycle
    • Hardware concepts
    • Architectural constraints
    • Measures to control and avoid failures
    • Reliability Analysis
  • Day 03
    • Software lifecycle
    • Hardware software relationship
    • A typical software problem
    • Safe software
    • Three types of software
    • Three types of development languages
    • Software tools
    • Dilemma for end users and system integrators
    • What is IEC 61508 certification? What to look for in a certificate?
    • What is proven in use?
    • How to prove “proven in use”?
    • Reliability data sources
    • Installation and commission
    • Validation
    • Operation, maintenance and repair
    • Modifications and retrofit
  • Day 04


    Written examination - A four (4) hour examination compromising of 60 multiple-choice questions and 5 working problems.  The passing score criterion is 75%. 



The certificate and card will be issued to participant based on successful completion of examination. Successful participant will be awarded:

Level - 1 “Functional Safety Engineer” in accordance with IEC 61508 Functional Safety Certification Program)

Validity of Certification: 5 years



  • Demonstrate individual expertise – as an IEC 61508 functional safety professional. Candidates who pass Levels 2 or 3 join the lifetime database of TÜV SÜD functional safety experts.
  • Comply with IEC 61508– with a certification that clearly demonstrates and documents your experts. Experience and knowledge of functional safety.
  • Maintain a competitive advantage – by building internal competencies to tackle functional safety Projects effectively and efficiently.


Next Steps

Site Selector