difference between fsms and fssc
3 min

Difference between ISO 22000 and FSSC 22000

Posted by: Helen Chin Date: 07 Jun 2024

ISO Standard - ISO 22000

ISO 22000 is an international standard for food safety management systems established by the International Organisation for Standardization (ISO).

ISO 22000 is a broader food safety management system that incorporates the principles of HACCP, prerequisite program as a fundamental part of its requirement but also includes other management system requirements that follows ISO common high-level structure (HLS) framework. It is based on Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) cycle.

HLS consists of common 10-clause developed by ISO to ensure greater harmonisation among its many different management system standards such as ISO 9001 Quality Management System or ISO 14001 Environmental Management System.

Common 10-clause are Scope, Normative Reference, Terms and Definitions, Context of Organization, Leadership, Planning, Support, Operation (covers HACCP principle and PRP in this chapter), Performance Evaluation, and Improvement.

ISO 22000 standard introduced the concept of “operational prerequisite programs (OPRPs)” to add to the existing concepts of prerequisite programs (PRPs) and Critical Control Points (CCP).

ISO 22000 is an internationally recognised standard, providing global credibility to organisations that achieve certification. It demonstrates compliance with internationally accepted best practices for food safety management and can enhance market access, especially for organisations operating in international markets or supplying to multinational customers.

Learn more about our ISO 22000 certification (under Singapore SAC accreditation) and ISO 22000 training courses.

GFSI recognised scheme - FSSC 22000

FSSC 22000 scheme has more requirements to be implemented compared to ISO 22000.

FSSC 22000 consists of three main components:

a) ISO 22000: FSSC 22000 is based on the international standard ISO 22000, which specifies the requirements for a food safety management system.

b) ISO/TS 22002-x, PAS 221: FSSC 22000 incorporates the ISO/TS 22002-x series and PAS 221 of technical specifications, which provide specific requirements for prerequisite programs (PRPs) relevant to different sectors of the food industry. These technical specifications address areas such as manufacturing, catering, food packaging manufacturing, transport and storage, manufacturing of feed and animal food, and food retail.

  • ISO/TS 22002-1 - Prerequisite programs on food safety - Part 1: Food manufacturing
  • ISO/TS 22002-2 - Prerequisite programs on food safety - Part 2: Catering
  • ISO/TS 22002-3 - Prerequisite programs on food safety - Part 3: Farming*
  • ISO/TS 22002-4 - Prerequisite programs on food safety - Part 4: Food packaging manufacturing
  • ISO/TS 22002-5 - Prerequisite programs on food safety - Part 5: Transport and storage
  • ISO/TS 22002-6 - Prerequisite programs on food safety - Part 6: Feed and animal food production

For example, if you are in food catering sector, applicable PRP standard to be implemented will be ISO/TS 22002-2.

* Not within the scope of FSSC 22000 V6.

c) FSSC 22000 Additional Requirements: In addition to ISO 22000 and ISO/TS 22002-x and PAS 221, FSSC 22000 requires specific requirements to be implemented, such as follows depending on food chain categories:

  • Management of services and purchased materials
  • Product labelling and printed materials
  • Food defense
  • Food fraud
  • Allergen management
  • Environmental monitoring
  • Food safety and quality culture
  • Quality control
  • Transport, storage, and warehousing
  • Hazard control and measures for preventing cross contamination
  • PRP verification
  • Product design and development
  • Health status (for animal feed)
  • Equipment management
  • Food loss and waste

By integrating these three components, FSSC 22000 provides a comprehensive framework for food safety management that addresses the specific needs of the food industry.

FSSC 22000 is a certification scheme recognised by the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI).

Many retailers and food manufacturers require their suppliers to be certified to a GFSI-recognised standard as a condition of doing business. Achieving certification to a GFSI-recognised standard can therefore facilitate market access and help suppliers meet customer requirements.

Learn more about our FSSC 22000 certification (under Germany DAkkS accreditation) and FSSC 22000 training courses.


   ISO 22000  FSSC 22000
Standard requirement Covers HACCP principles according to the Codex Alimentarius Covers HACCP principles according to the Codex Alimentarius
CCP and/ or OPRP monitoring CCP and/ or OPRP monitoring
Pre-requisite program
- consider applicable part of the ISO/TS 22002-x, or applicable code of practice
Pre-requisite program
- mandatory implement specific PRP standard depending on sectors (ISO/TS 22002-x, PAS 221)
Management system requirement
(Follows ISO high-level structure common 10-clause)
Management system requirement
(Follows ISO high-level structure common 10-clause)
  Additional specific requirements by Foundation FSSC
Scheme owner International Organization for Standardisation (ISO) Foundation FSSC, The Netherlands
Recognition Internationally recognised standard Internationally recognised standard
Recognised by the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI)   GFSI-recognised


While both ISO 22000 and FSSC 22000 certifications provide substantial benefits in food safety management, FSSC 22000 offers additional advantages through its GFSI recognition (which means it is accepted by major retailers, manufacturers, and food service companies worldwide), specific prerequisite programs, and additional requirements, making it a more detailed and preferred certification in certain markets.

ISO 22000 provides a solid foundation for food safety management and is highly beneficial for organisations looking for an internationally recognised standard that integrates seamlessly with other ISO management systems.

Ultimately, the choice between FSSC 22000, and ISO 22000 certification depends on factors such as industry requirements, market preferences, and organizational objectives.

With a commitment to excellence and a global reputation for delivering top-tier certification services, TÜV SÜD stands out as a reliable partner for food safety solutions, helping your business align seamlessly with international standards. Get started on your certification journey with TÜV SÜD.

Next Steps

Site Selector