Choose another country to see content specific to your location

//Select a site

ISO 10993 webinar series: Hemocompatibility testing of medical devices (Part 6 of 7)

Webinar

LEARN ABOUT THE BASICS FOR HEMOCOMPATIBILITY TESTING OF MEDICAL DEVICES

This webinar elaborates on the importance of hemocompatibility testing of medical devices with regards to data interpretation, choice of blood species, anticoagulation as well as direct & indirect testing. The underlying standards such as the ISO 10993-1 and ISO 10993-4 are explained.

Additionally, topics on basic principles from the coagulation system in the context of hemocompatibility testing are discussed. A deeper understanding of those aspects enables the participants to use and adapt the concept of hemocompatibility testing.

Date: 27 January 2022, Thursday
Time: 10:00 AM CET/ 2:30 PM IST/ 4:00 AM EST (Session 1)
            3:00 PM CET/ 7:30 PM IST/ 9:00 AM EST (Session 2)
Duration: 1h (including 15 mins for Q&A)


KEY TOPICS COVERED:

  • Main aspects of 10993-4
  • Blood species
  • Anticoagulation
  • Coagulation system details
  • Choice of tests
  • Data interpretation 
  • Q&A

About the speaker

Mr. Jan Herzer

Product Specialist, TÜV SÜD Group

Mr. Jan Herzer graduated 2013 in Biotechnology at the University of Muenster and is since two years a member of the TÜV SÜD Group.

Jan started his career at the University of Munich as a male nurse at the intensive care unit and graduated after that in Biotechnology. Subsequently, he worked in molecular biology with focus on functional surface interactions and Biofilm research at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. Before he joined TÜV SÜD, Jan worked for a testing laboratory where he led a team for hemocompatibility studies.  

Jan has strong medical devices hands-on experience as well as extensive knowledge of testing medical devices in an ISO/GLP environment and from a personal as well as scientific perspective.


IS0 10993 WEBINAR SERIES 

Sign up for the rest of the ISO 10993 webinar series here.

Next Steps

Site Selector