Choose another country to see content specific to your location

//Select Country

ISO Standards Revisions Update

Adding value with our service portfolio

International management system standards enter the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) revision process every 5 years

This six stage process is designed to allow stakeholders including technical experts, regulatory bodies and industry, to shape the future direction of the standard.

In September 2015, ISO 9001:2015 (quality) and ISO 14001:2015 (environmental) standards were published after completing the revision process. These revisions affected several other standards. Most have finished their revisions and have been published.

The information below will help keep you informed on new standards, transition timelines and TÜV SÜD America new accreditations.

Updates on Revisions

AS9100:2016 (Rev. D)

The International Aerospace Quality Group (IAQG) published AS9100:2016 (Rev. D) in October 2016. The revision includes the essential changes made to international quality management system standard ISO 9001:2015 and additional Aerospace, Space and Defense stakeholder requirements. Organizations currently certified to AS9100/9110/9120 will need to transition to the relevant 2016 revision by September 2018. Click here for more information and to attend our free webinar.

IATF 16949:2016 (formerly TS16949)

IATF 16949 was published in October 2016. The publication of the certification rules followed in November 2016. Organizations will need to integrate and implement the changes in their quality management systems prior to the transition audit. Auditors must acquire authorization to perform audits according to IATF 16949 by passing an examination. Transition audits begin in February 2017 and organizations have until September 14, 2018 to complete the audits. To learn more, download our infographic or attend our free webinar.

ISO 45001

The Final Draft International Standard (FDIS) is expected November 2017 with publication of the final standard expected in February 2018. Organizations with OHSAS 18001 will have three years to upgrade to ISO 45001. For more information on the standard and the status of ISO 45001, click here.


SQF Code – Edition 8 has been published. As of January 2, 2018, new audits will have to be done to SQF Edition 8. Audits conducted prior that date, can still be audited to Edition 7.2 of the SQF code. For more information, click here.

ISO 13845

The new ISO13485:2016 standard was published on March 1, 2016. Two years after the publication of ISO 13485:2016 all accredited certifications issued (new certifications or re-certifications) will be to ISO 13485:2016. Three years after publication by ISO of ISO 13485:2016, any existing certification issued to ISO 13485:2003 will not be valid. Learn more here.

Transition Deadlines

 Transition Deadline
 ISO 9001:2015
 September 14, 2018
 ISO 14001:2015
 September 15, 2018
 AS9100:2016  September 15, 2018
 ISO/TS 16949:2016
 September 14, 2018
 SQF  January 2, 2018

TÜV SÜD Recent Accreditations

TÜV SÜD America Inc. is pleased to announce it has been granted accreditation to provide certification to the TL900:2016 (R6.0) standard by the ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board (ANAB).


ISO 9001:2015 Guidance
White paper

ISO 9001:2015 Guidance

A comprehensive guideline to ISO 9001:2015.

Learn More


Next Steps

Select Your Location





Middle East and Africa