BRC - Food Safety Issue 8 Lead Auditor

Qualifying People - Developing Future

Qualifying People - Developing Future


30th - 31st July & 5th, 6th, 7th Aug 2022: BRC Food version 8 Lead Auditor Program I Duration: 5 Days | Time: 9:30 am to 6:00 pm

27th - 28th Aug & 2nd, 3rd, 4th Sept 2022: BRC Food version 8 Lead Auditor Program I Duration: 5 Days | Time: 9:30 am to 6:00 pm

Note: If your preferred training date is not visible, please reach out to us by filling up the form.


TÜV SÜD South Asia in association with BRCGS organise a 5 days course on BRC standard - Global Standard for Food Safety Issue 8.0 Lead Auditor program.

This 5-day in-depth course will provide an understanding of the standard in terms of the protocol, requirements and how to audit effectively. Delegates will gain an in-depth guide to the requirements of the standard, and learn how to undertake a BRC Global Standards audit, including effective planning, conducting and reporting of the audit. Auditing techniques will be practiced and developed, to include the auditor competency skills required of GFSI scheme auditors

Successful completion of this course, including the exam, forms part of the training necessary to become a BRC Global Standards auditor. The steps necessary to complete your training must be arranged with a BRC Global Standards-approved certification body.

Before the course you must have read and reviewed a copy of the Standard which is available free of charge from the BRCGS Bookshop.

This program is structured to provide an overall understanding on how to audit an organisation as per BRC Issue 8.0 requirements with the aid of tutor led sessions, interactions and relevant examples.


After completion of this course, you would learn about BRC Issue 8.0 standard requirements along with an understanding of:

  • The details of the BRC Global Standards scheme.
  • The requirements of the Standard and how compliance can be demonstrated.
  • BRC Global Standards auditing protocol.
  • Effective auditing techniques.
  • Food safety auditor competencies as defined by GFSI.
  • Completing the audit report.
  • Compliance monitoring of certification bodies.
  • The BRC Global Standards Directory.

course content / Outline

Issue 8 of the Standard is divided into nine sections:

  1. Senior management commitment - Commitment at a senior level is essential in the development of a good food safety culture and is therefore necessary for any food safety system to be effective and to ensure the full application and continual development of these systems.
  2. The food safety plan - HACCP - Effective hazard and risk analysis enables the company to identify and manage those hazards that may pose a risk to the safety, quality and integrity of their products. The Standard requires the development of an effective hazard analysis and critical control point (HACCP) programme based on the requirements of the internationally recognised Codex Alimentarius system.
  3. Food safety and quality management system - This section ensures the company works to well-documented, systematic management systems that form the basis for the product and process controls necessary to produce safe products, meet customer expectations and ensure staff are trained.
  4. Site standards - This covers the suitability, cleanliness and control of the site and includes topics such as factory conditions, cleaning, equipment, pest control, foreign body controls and food defence/site security.
  5. Product control - Establishing product controls such as allergen management, the prevention of food fraud and product testing are important in the reliable delivery of safe, authentic products.
  6. Process control - These requirements ensure that the documented HACCP plan is put into operation on a daily basis, together with effective procedures to consistently manufacture the product to the correct quality.
  7. Personnel - Training, protective clothing and hygiene practices are covered in this section
  8. High-risk, high-care and ambient high-care production risk zones - A specific section of the Standard dealing with products that are susceptible to potential pathogen contamination and therefore need additional controls to ensure product safety.
  9. Requirements for traded products - A voluntary additional section of the Standard for sites that purchase and sell food products that would normally fall within the scope of the Standard and are stored at the site’s facilities, but which are not manufactured, further processed or packed at the site being audited.

who should attend?

  • Food Safety Management representatives of an organisation.
  • Professionals who have a role to play in the implementation of BRC Issue 8.
  • Certification body auditors or new auditors seeking registration.
  • The organisational representative planning to get certified BRC issue 8.0.
  • Personnel from certification body, consultants, technical and Quality Managers who wish to gain an in-depth understanding of the audit process, consultants regarding Issue 8.0 requirements.

training duration

Duration: 05 Days


  • Should have knowledge and / or working experience in Food Industry or related industries.
  • Delegates must have a prior working knowledge of quality management systems and auditing within the relevant manufacturing sector.
  • To have completed a HACCP course of at least two days duration.

partner institute

exam details 

  • Online exam with Lead Auditor 50 question exam and passing mark is 75%.


  • BRC would issue certificate of “Global Standard for Food Safety Issue 8.0 - Lead Auditor Program”

Next Steps

Site Selector